We turn to God for help when our foundations are shaking, only to learn that it is God who is shaking them. — Charles C. West

This isn’t a quote I grew up with. I learned it in college. I never quite remember it in it’s entirety.

I will always remember the young woman who taught it to me. Sapphire [name changed to protect the innocent] was a free-spirit, a 30-something year too-late flower child. Her skirts were long and flowing, crinkled, with wild patterns. I don’t think I ever saw her in jeans or slacks. Her blouses were enchanting. I loved her jewelry…shiny and jingly and downright different from the current trends. She even kicked me out of a party that she said was too wild for me (and I could tell a story about what I thought was a wonderful bubble pipe at that party, but I digress…and I did leave immediately.)

She was relaxed and carefree, so unusual. So when she shared this quote with a group of our friends, I was shocked. I didn’t see anything that would indicate she had any reason to hang onto a phrase like that.

Older now, I get it. She chose joy. She chose peace. There were little signs of some of the problems she faced with friends from a different life, but if you didn’t know to look for them, you didn’t know the burdens were there. She chose not to hide them but to only reveal them if it gave her an opening for service. Even when everything she knew was shifting rapidly, she had the faith to trust that God was in control and everything that happened was because He needed you to refocus on Him or He needed to refine your soul so you were stronger.

When the earthquakes happen, we shouldn’t run away. We should stay put, praise God, let God come to us, and serve Him in the rubble. (Acts 16:16-34)

Leave a Reply

