Why we dance: To dance is to pray, to pray is to heal, to heal is to give, to give is to live, to live is to dance. — MariJo Moore

I’ve always had a love for Native Americans. I think it was somehow passed down from both sides of my family. I loved the costumes and the stories and the traditions (as much as any glow-in-the-dark woman could). But most of all, I loved to watch them dance.

Some dances were group dances. The steps were simple. Young and old participated together.

Other dances featured single dancers. The steps were complicated and the costumes complex.

The dances sang to me of life and surviving long odds and persevering in a world gone crazy where you just don’t fit because you’re too simple.

And I think that’s one of the factors affecting my recent change in denominational pews. It’s tiny and not the largest. However, I still must admit that I have an intense jealousy of those who dance in worship of their still, small Voice.

The reckless abandon they have, the ability to shut out the rest of the world for their Audience of One, the life and light that pours out of every move responding to physical music as well as a spiritual music only they can hear.

I learned to pray. I have been healed by my still, small Voice. I am learning to live and give. And soon… I will dance.

Leave a Reply

