Recipe for Kale Chips

Since one of the topics of my blog is supposed to be food, I thought it might be time to share a recipe.

The back story is that nearly one year ago my body went into a mode of high pain. Translated: It was so excruciating I didn’t want to even get out of bed and once I found a position that settled the pain I didn’t want to move.

Someone suggested I try a particular diet. I won’t name it by name, but I will tell you it was the see/no eat diet: If you see it and you like it, you can’t eat it.

I tried (and inflicted) many new recipes on my family. In a way, I feel sorry for all the flops. In another way, I am so proud of them and me because it prepared all of us for a journey into food allergies and intolerances and reading labels in 2-point font. We are getting healthier for it.

So, without further, adieu, here is the kale chip recipe. Kale chips make excellent replacements for potato chips.

NOTE:

If you are on warfarin-based blood thinners, these delights may be not so delightful and can cause issues with your blood clotting rates. Please consult your physician before trying this recipe. Additional Nutrition Information: http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/kale.html

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Get as much kale as you like. Wash it and break it in small bits (1-2 inch square work best). Let it dry.
  3. The next two steps you may have to do multiple times. In a 1-gallon ziploc baggie, place 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (cold pressed) with 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. (You can adjust salt and garlic to taste. There might even be other seasonings/spices/herbs you can use, but I’ve not tried them.) Mix all the ingredients for a few seconds.
  4. Add enough kale to fill the bag and shake. Dump onto parchment lined cookie sheet and bake, usually about 15 minutes (but a lot depends on the oven). Pull when leaves are brown and crispy.
  5. Repeat until all the kale you want is complete.
HINTS
  • We find that we can only do two batches before having to replace the ziploc baggie. Otherwise, the seasonings are too strong.
  • Usually, one full baggie correlates to a full average sized cookie sheet.
  • We find that a grocery bag of kale usually makes two batches.
  • We let our kale sit at room temperature for two days before baking it recently. It worked even better; we will try this again next time.

Leave a Reply

