Thanksgiving Top 30, 2014

I see things making their rounds on FB all the time like post the three things you’re thankful for each day for a week or post one thing you’re thankful for each day for a month. It’s not just today, a country-wide holiday in the corner of my globe; it has been all year off and on.

This is truly a good thing and nothing new. In 1897, lyricist Johnson Oatman, Jr., wrote an entire hymn, “Count Your Blessings.” The gist of the song is that there is so much for us to be thankful for that we should never forget we are blessed, even amidst the storms of life or reversals of fortune or the little stressors that build to that one last stressor that become the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back.

And it’s not easy. It requires a positive mental attitude, self-discipline to recognize complaining and begin to admit to blessings, and strength to expand the blessing list in the midst of darkness and faltering.

So, without further adieu, here is my top 30 blessings and thankfulness ideas for 2014. Have a blessed day with you and yours!

30: For a warm house, clean water, and good food

29: For a car that runs

28: For a stove, refrigerator, microwave, and food processor

27: For a washer and dryer that work well

26: For heating and air conditioning

25: For not burning down the house while I’ve been learning to cook, as well as all the things I’ve learned while learning to cook

24: For singer-songwriters whose command of the language of verbal expression and musical phraseology provide me many pleasant hours with rhyme and rhythm and vivid imagination

23: For contemporary Christian artists whose ministries plant seeds of conviction and victory and triumph while weeding out hypocrisy and sin and cowardice

22: For life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, including freedom from a State-decreed religion, freedom to exercise any religion I choose, freedom of the press, freedom of speech, freedom to gather with others peaceably, freedom to bear arms, and freedom from cruel and unusual punishment

21: For all the soldiers, sailors, and airmen living and dead who risked their lives to purchase and ensure all the freedoms we have in this corner of the globe

20: For all the pastors in my life (regardless of denominational pew) who are or were good shepherds and focus more on the sheep than themselves and their welfare

19: For my former denominational pew that taught me self-discipline and faithfulness

18: For my current denominational pew that has been a catalyst in allowing me to grow into what Abba intended

17: For continually receiving a crown of beauty for my ashes, the oil of joy for my mourning, and a garment of praise for my despair

16: For the acacia tree branches of my former choices being shifted and shaped into an oak of righteousness

15: For the work of the Author and Finisher of my Faith who always completes the good work He began in me

14: For all the dogs in my life, especially Bridget who taught me a lot and Zippy who now is teaching me other lessons

13: For kith and kin, by blood or by law or by choice

12:  For my siblings, who with me make up a ragamuffin troop of individuals who are bright and lively and full of life and so radically different that it is amazing any place we’ve been is still standing

11: For my parents and grandparents who made a lot of choices and sacrifices that gave me opportunities to get where I am today

10: For the Good News and my confidence in its power

09: For the fruit of my still, small Voice growing in my life (too slowly at times), including love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control

08: For the time I spent with my ex, which although many see it as a mistake, I see it as just a choice that taught me many lessons (some very hard and humbling) and gave me my next three blessings

07: For Child A, whose patience, temperance, and diligence lead to perceptions of the world that seem beyond her years

06: For Child B, a child of thunder and lightening, who challenges me to watch my actions and reactions to ensure the most energetic are properly challenged and channeled according to Truth so that I set the proper example

05: For Child C, whose views on the world are so upside-down as to be right-side up and who teaches me that different is just different

04: For my current husband, who has been a friend that sticks closer than a brother, who has sharpened me like iron sharpens iron to live Truth (even when it was painful for him), and who has lived a servant’s heart in and out of our home

03: For Ruach HaKodesh, who counsels me and guides me and advocates for me and teaches me all Truth

02: For Yeshua, who as far as I know is the only Deity in all the universe to lay down equality as a supreme being and become a human being, serving all He encountered who were oppressed by the enemy and then willingly giving up His Life in a criminal’s death to give broken humans the opportunity to choose fellowship and eternal life with Him

01: For my Abba, who rejoices over me with singing

Leave a Reply

