Modern Bondage

Nowhere to run, nowhere to hide
Enslaved to the pharaoh of a beautiful place
Lives bitter with the mortar of debt,
The bricks of legal requirements
The world’s an oyster
And me with shellfish anaphylaxis

I need my bush to burn
I need to see my fields on fire
But the foxes have hidden
And the ground is unholy

Is my distress heard?
Is my suffering seen?
Can my slave drivers be few enough to be counted?

I need to see the eternal name
Emblazoned with glory
Rising up with healing in his wings to free his children

Leave a Reply

