Have I broken the 10th commandment with regard to male members?

It’s one of those days. I’m cranky, irritable, and not fond of anything. I don’t like men, and I’m not fond of women with a penchant for melodrama, narcissism, egocentrism, or gossip.

I don’t think it’s that I have penis envy either. Merriam-Webster online defines penis envy:

the supposed coveting of the penis by a young human female which is held in Freudian psychoanalytic theory to lead to feelings of inferiority and defensive or compensatory behavior

I see five main criteria

  • Coveting
  • Young human female
  • Inferiority
  • Defensive
  • Compensatory

First, I’m not young enough to be in the category of young human female. After all, I have two marriages and two c-sections under my belt. And on a day without coffee, I might not be human. 😉
Criteria Met = NO

I don’t feel inferior. Although, there have been many attempts at making me see myself as inferior, and sometimes I have fallen victim to inferiority feelings.  I do not in general for the majority of the time feel inferior.
Criteria Met = NO

Am I defensive? Hell, yeah! I come from a long line of strong women on both sides of my family. I’m not going to take a lot of garbage, and I’m not going to let my family take garbage. So maybe I do meet this criteria.
Criteria Met = Yes

Compensatory behavior is hard to see as a real criteria. The job of any strong woman is to identify obstacles and when they cannot be destroyed to find ways around them. So, while I might not be able to move an entire tree by sawing the trunk and dragging it like a man, I can chop away branch by branch. It might take longer, but the job is still done. It’s not really compensation; it’s creative problem solving.
Criteria Met = NO

Let’s move to the coveting of the male member. Covet is defined as “to wish for eagerly” or “to have an inordinate or wrongful desire.” I do not want one of those monstrosities attached to my body. Early in life, it tells on you when your thoughts are impure by standing at attention. Later in life, it refuses to rise to the occasion and then dribbles all over your clothes, making more work for you (or your partner — or so I’m told).
Criteria Met = NO

So, with only 1 in 5 criteria achieved, at a 20%, I do not meet the 80% necessary for a successful completion of any test anywhere.

So what is my problem? My problem is that I’ve let my attitude be colored by misogynists and the women they’ve trashed. When you disrespect a woman, you take away something from her–whether it’s the respect of her community, the respect of her children, or the respect she has for herself. The disrespect does not have a trickle down effect; it’s more likely to have the effect of a boulder in a pond creating a concentric lahar.

*sighs*

I cannot change others. I can only change myself–my thoughts, words, and actions. Think I need to go back to my own advice in the last few lines at the end of Repent, Rinse, Repeat

Leave a Reply

