Irritated Flesh

…a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”  — Saul of Tarsus, Second letter to Christians in Corinth

There are thorns in my life–
Tangled complexities of sin and pain–
That tie me down, trip me up, and bind my hands.

I’ve wrestled and tangled.
I’ve chopped and torn and shredded.
Yet I’m crumpled in a tangled mess just the same.

I’ve begged the Master
To vaporize the thorns and burrs
And set me on my feet.

He just smiled and sighed,
And with a slight tear in His eyes, replied,
No, little one, I will not.

“Become as a child.
See the wonder in the knots
So you can be in my kingdom.

“Become as a silent stone.
See that the thorns silence you
So you always hear My voice.

“Become as a chick.
Be soft and gentle to others
So that they feel the warmth of My wings.

“Become still in My presence.
Let the vines bind you
So you only move if I lead.”

Let Your grace be sufficient in this moment.
Let Your strength support me in my weakness.
Be God because I am not.

Leave a Reply

