The Dancing Toddler

He toddles along.
He holds his mom’s feather
And wears his dad’s scarf.
He looks in wonder
At the warriors and elders–
Different clothes, different steps,
Yet all to the rhythm of the drums.

He’s like me…
The whole world dances around me.
I have my father’s crucifix
And my mother’s spirit and tenacity.
I am awed
By the Chinese and the Muslims and the Amazon tribes.
The colors swirl around me,
The languages enchant me,
But we have no common rhythm.

The world as it fills me with wonder
Leaves me confused and reeling in my soul.
I cannot find the patterns.
I cannot make sense of it all.

Like him I wander in wonder.

Leave a Reply

