Tensions of the Times

The words tumble from my brain
Into a churning pool dammed by my lips.
Life swirls on around me
As focus starts to blur.
The world is tumbling faster
As I stand still to wait.

Why am I waiting?
What stops me?

I’ve set a siren’s beacon ablaze.
I search to pull in the lines that speak to a generation.
Short staccato thoughts won’t do.
160 characters can’t carry it out.
I need sentences and paragraphs,
Unity and coherence.

The hyper jumping web links sometimes have no rhythm, no pattern.
Order and chaos careen toward infinity,
But I need order to prevail.
Modern media lacks the eloquence
Of Twain, Poe, Barrett, and Shakespeare.
Classics should be classics for all ages.

Leave a Reply

